Mobile-only Menu


Quick Navigation to IPSD Sites

Anthony Tegtmeyer of Neuqua Valley High School named PLTW Engineering Teacher of the Year

Reported by on 2/10/20

Anthony Tegtmeyer of Neuqua Valley High School named
PLTW Engineering Teacher of the Year

INDIANPOLIS (Feb. 8, 2020) – Anthony Tegtmeyer of Neuqua Valley High School in Indian Prairie School District 204 was recently recognized by Project Lead The Way (PLTW) as the PLTW Engineering Teacher of the Year, which is the highest recognition for PLTW Engineering educators. PLTW President and Chief Executive Officer Dr. Vince Bertram presented the award in front of nearly 1,000 attendees, including teachers from across the United States at PLTW’s national conference in Indianapolis – PLTW Summit.

“Tony is a great example of what’s happening in our schools. His leadership in Engineering taps into the interest that many students have in that field. He allows them to explore problems and gives them a voice on how to solve them. They get to own their experience and Tony is helping them do that.” – Neuqua Valley High School Principal, Dr. Lance Fuhrer

“Tony’s passion and experience as an engineer has been invaluable in the classroom. His students are gaining a real understanding of what engineering is all about because his lessons simulate real-world experiences.” – Lisa Traut, Department Chair – Technology & Engineering Education Department

The award is based on merit and is a reflection of Tegtmeyer’s strong alignment to PLTW’s mission— exceptional commitment to students— school leadership— and meaningful involvement in PLTW curriculum, assessment, and professional development.

In addition to Tegtmeyer’s award, PLTW recognized four other instructors as PLTW program teachers of the year for their outstanding commitment to empowering students to thrive in our evolving world and the Robert and Patricia Kern PLTW Teacher of the Year:

• PLTW Launch Teacher of the Year – Adam Dugger, Searingtown Elementary School, Herricks Union Free School District, New York
• PLTW Gateway Teacher of the Year– Nathan Williams, Bayless Junior High School, Bayless School District, Missouri
• PLTW Biomedical Science Teacher of the Year– Jason Gibbs, Wayne High School, Wayne County Schools, West Virginia
• PLTW Computer Science Teacher of the Year – Daniel Sanchez, Norwalk High School, Norwalk – La Mirada United School District, California
• Robert and Patricia Kern PLTW Teacher of the Year – Brian Iselin, Lorain County Joint Vocational School, Ohio

PLTW also recognized Julie Cannizzo, assistant superintendent of academic affairs at Goddard Public Schools in Kansas as PLTW Educational Leader of the Year.

“PLTW is proud to work with outstanding educators across the country who are inspiring and empowering our students to develop in-demand knowledge and skills,” Bertram said. “Anthony Tegtmeyer an exemplary teacher, and we are proud to recognize him for his commitment to students.”

PLTW Summit, sponsored by Chevron, is the premier gathering for individuals dedicated to preparing students with the in-demand and transportable skills they need to succeed in college and careers. Guests will include PreK-12 educators, students, university leaders, and business and industry leaders.

Project Lead The Way (PLTW) is a mission-driven organization that is transforming the learning experience for millions of PreK-12 students and thousands of teachers across the U.S. PLTW empowers students to develop in-demand, transportable knowledge and skills through pathways in computer science, engineering, and biomedical science. PLTW’s teacher training and resources support teachers as they engage their students in real-world learning. Approximately 12,200 elementary, middle, and high schools in all 50 states and the District of Columbia offer PLTW programs. For more information on Project Lead The Way, visit

Log in to Edit

eSchoolPlus Naviance Useful student links

Commonly Accessed Links and Info for Students, Parents and Community