NVHS LogoNeuqua Valley High School

Indian Prairie School District 204


NV Students Named AP Scholars

Reported by webmaster@ipsd.org on 12/7/10

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program (AP) provides motivated high school students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses and to earn college credit for their successful performance on the AP exams.

In District 204, 1,527 students took a total of 3,035 AP exams in May of 2010, with 85.3 percent of those tests resulting in a score of 3 or above (on a 5-point scale), providing students with the equivalent of college credit while in high school.

These achievements ranked District 204's high schools among Newsweek's "America's Top High Schools" for 2010, placing them in the top 6 percent of public schools measured by the publication's index, which is based on the number of AP tests taken divided by the number of graduating seniors.

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students' performance on high school AP exams:

NATIONAL AP SCHOLAR: 48 District 204 students received this top honor by earning an average grade of 4 or higher (on a 5-point scale) on ALL exams taken AND grades of 4 or higher on eight or more of those exams.

National AP Scholars from Neuqua Valley High School include: Martin Amesquita, Grant Blazina, Ankit Chandola, Varun Char, Shijun Du, Samuel Du, Samuel Ide, Sabih Jafri, Conner Jager, Ian Johnson, Sana Kagalwalla, Steven Li, Robert Lien, Sophie Luo, Alexander Merkley, Monica Mingione, Rupa Mirmira, Neel Lawande, Sathwik Nandamuri, Bradley Niederschulte, Naveen Pokala, Sandeep Reddy, Karuna Relwani, Pedro Ribeiro, Michael Rooney, Sathish Sekar, Rohan Sharma, Arsh Singh, Meredith Staub, Kelsey Stimple, Michael Subtelny, Melissa Tang, Aneesh Tyle, Charles Vinci, Emily Wang, James Yun, Kevin Zhang and Weijia Zhang.

AP SCHOLAR WITH DISTINCTION: 216 District 204 students qualified for this award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams

AP SCHOLAR WITH HONOR: 118 District 204 students were recognized with this award by earning an average of 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on 4 or more of these exams.


Edit This Story

eSchoolPlus Naviance

Contact Us

Principal: Dr. Robert McBride, Jr.

Main Building (map)
2360 95th Street
Naperville, IL 60564

NVHS Switchboard: 630.428.6000
Attendance Line: 630.428.6003
Athletic Office: 630.428.6849
Box Office: 630.428.6380

Is there something you'd like to tell us? We'd love to hear it!


Follow NVHS and IPSD 204 on Twitter to get the latest school and district information.

©Indian Prairie Community Unit School District 204, serving Naperville, Aurora, Bolingbrook, & Plainfield, IL. Login