NVHS LogoNeuqua Valley High School

Indian Prairie School District 204


Youth & Government Elected to Top Offices at State Assembly

Reported by kelli_tufo@ipsd.org on 3/20/17

Neuqua Valley Youth and Government had unprecedented success at its state assembly this past weekend. All 76 "YAGers" did our community proud by their conduct and their performance in our Illinois government competitive simulation. Students debated legislation, campaigned for office, argued before the Supreme Court, and many were recognized for their outstanding performances.

2017 Election Winners:
• Archit Dhar, Governor [3rd governor in NV history, one of only four students in YAG's 68-year history to win three major offices over his YAG career]
• Bernie Wang, Secretary of State
• Shreya Sridhara, President of the Senate
• Roshini Balasubramanian, Speaker of the House

2018 Election Winners:
There were two elections this year only because YAG is now electing the four major offices a year ahead so that students serve for a full year. NV swept all of the offices that were up for election.

• Trisha Prabhu, Governor [4th NV governor, only 2nd female governor in YAG's 68-year history and the first in 28 years]
• Ryan Miller, Lt. Governor
• Eunice Chang, Secretary of State
• Rekha Iyer, Chief Justice

Judicial Awards:
• Alex Shura + Chailuv Gidwani won Best Oral Argument for the second year in a row, in addition to 2nd Overall in their category.
• Vanessa Cai + Lily Nie swept first place in all three judicial awards in their category, winning Best Oral Argument, Best Bench Memo, and Best Overall.
• Viraja Alluri + Meera Gosavi won the 2nd Place Bench Memo award in their category
• Madie Mehra + Rekha Iyer won the 3rd Place Oral Argument award in their category
• Wenjing Li + Nomuna Dorjbat won the 3rd Place Bench Memo award in their category

Legislative Awards:
• Legislative Assistant Forum Winners: Abby McArthur-Self [first place], Fayha Nazeer [second place] + Neel Pai [third place]
• Most Effective Lobbyist Awards: Anuva Shandilya, Josh Kim, Kevin Sciackitano
• NV had the first overall bill signed into law -- authors TJ Obora, Andy Song and Roshini Balasubramanian
• Most Effective Legislator: Trisha Prabhu


Edit This Story

eSchoolPlus Naviance Useful student links

Contact Us

Principal: Dr. Robert McBride, Jr.

Main Building (map)
2360 95th Street
Naperville, IL 60564

NVHS Switchboard:630.428.6000
Attendance Line:630.428.6003
Athletic Office:630.428.6849
Box Office:630.428.6380

Is there something you'd like to tell us? We'd love to hear it!


Follow NVHS and IPSD 204 on Twitter to get the latest school and district information.

©Indian Prairie Community Unit School District 204, serving Naperville, Aurora, Bolingbrook, & Plainfield, IL. Login