NVHS LogoNeuqua Valley High School

Indian Prairie School District 204


Neuqua Media Students Earn Top Honors

Reported by lisa_traut@ipsd.org on 5/1/17

The 24th Annual High School Video Festival, sponsored by the Chicago/Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences and the Midwest Media Educators Association (MMEA), was held Friday, April 28, 2017, at Neuqua Valley High School in Naperville, IL. 22 students from the Media Communication I, Broadcast Journalism & Production II, & Broadcast Journalism & Production III classes at Neuqua Valley High School participated along with over 850 other high school television students from 43 high schools across the Northern Illinois/Southern Wisconsin/Northwest Indiana area.

Neuqua Valley earned 6 top honors in Division A.

1st Place – Comedic Narrative: “30-Second Time Machine” by Mackenzie Sammeth & Ashna Sran
1st Place – News Program: “Wildcat Weekly” by Andrea Richards, Emma Smith, Kaitlyn Jacobson, Dillon Yates
2nd Place – Commercial: “Vans” by Kristina Ridriguez
2nd Place – School Promotion: “Neuqua Valley Football: The Road to State” by Scott Anderson
3rd Place – Commercial: “Purple Dog Records” by Matt Thomas & Armin Nikravan
3rd Place – Dramatic Narrative: “The Case of the Cold Killer” by Matt Thomas, Armin Nikravan, Jack Hemmingway

* The Chicago/Midwest chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences recently announced that 1 Neuqua Valley student has been awarded a Student Television Award for Excellence in the following categories:
- Rachel Marsh for “Four Walls-Bastille” in the Music Video category
One other video was a nominee (finalist) in the Commercial category:
- Josh Alexander & Jack Gramza for “What is Google?”

The TV Academy created the Student Award of Excellence to honor outstanding television journalism by high school students in 2003. This is the 10th Student Awards of Excellence that Neuqua Valley has been awarded.

The TV Academy will honor the winning entries at the Silver Circle Honors dinner on Friday, April 28th at the Knickerbocker Hotel in downtown Chicago.

For more information on the Student Television Award for Excellence, visit: http://chicagoemmyonline.org/students/


Edit This Story

eSchoolPlus Naviance Useful student links

Contact Us

Principal: Dr. Robert McBride, Jr.

Main Building (map)
2360 95th Street
Naperville, IL 60564

NVHS Switchboard:630.428.6000
Attendance Line:630.428.6003
Athletic Office:630.428.6849
Box Office:630.428.6380

Is there something you'd like to tell us? We'd love to hear it!


Follow NVHS and IPSD 204 on Twitter to get the latest school and district information.

©Indian Prairie Community Unit School District 204, serving Naperville, Aurora, Bolingbrook, & Plainfield, IL. Login